Michael Scott


Designed by Michael Scott and team, the Store Street Bus Station or Busáras (1953) replaced the informal melée of bus activity on the nearby quays of the River Liffey with a tall, thin section, concrete frame and a plan governed by the sweep of buses. Engineered by Ove Arup, Busáras featured the first concrete cantilever on the island in the canopy to the bus yard as well as a double skin façade influenced by Le Corbusier’s Cité de Refuge and Centrosoyuz buildings. Passengers’ visual experience of the buses is framed through a glazed curtain wall which separates the vehicles from a double height waiting room articulated by concrete pilotis covered in coloured mosaics by Patrick Scott.


up 2/4 down

up 3/4 down

up 4/4